Cleaning InstructionsSend page

Cleaning Instructions

A) General

Market research studies, tests and above all practical experience prove that ceramic displays excellent properties compared to other covering materials. Its lasting beauty, ease of cleaning and high functionality are decisive criteria in both private and public areas.

Our products are high-quality brand items. All glazed and unglazed materials are distinguished by surfaces which are ideal for easy cleaning.

When using any cleaning agents, please make sure that the instructions for use and hazard indications of the respective manufacturer are complied with. It goes without saying that we can not assume any liability for damage incurred by non-compliance with these instructions and this information.

Never use cleaning agents which contain hydrofluoric acid or compounds thereof (fluorides). They attack the ceramic even when diluted with plenty of water.
 

B) Basic information

There is an old saying which is still applicable today: dirt which is not brought in does not need to be removed! Shoe-scrapers, doormats and zones provided for cleaning shoes by walking in front of the entrance area ensure that most dirt is left outside.

The following principles apply for the cleaning process:
 

  1. Choice of the appropriate cleaning agent

  2. There must be sufficient time for the cleaning agent to act upon the dirt and to loosen it.

  3. The process must be supported mechanically by brushing or wiping.

  4. The dirt separated from the covering must be thoroughly collected, washed or sucked off.

Do not use so-called pads or brushes with abrasive grain as they can significantly impair non-slip safety!



 

C) Cleaning after installation or first cleaning

This involves final cleaning after conclusion of installation. Once coarse dirt has been removed by sweeping, thorough cleaning takes place using a suitable cleaning agent.

Cement films, i.e. residues of hydraulically hardening laying and pointing materials, can only be removed using acid cleaning agents, so-called cement film removers.

Acid cleaners attack cement joints. Therefore, protect the joints by pre-wetting and thoroughly rinsing the covering with clear water after the use of acid cleaners, neutralising if possible.

Normal dirt is best removed using alkaline or neutral cleaning agents.
 

D) Regular cleaning

Regular cleaning is unproblematic and is required at various intervals, depending on the degree of soiling and utilisation: weekly, daily, several times a day in heavily frequented areas. In general, it is sufficient to use water with standard cleaning agents. Combined preparations for cleaning and care are not necessary and may even be problematic in the long run: sticky grease, wax and synthetic layers may form on the covering, which have a negative influence on the visual, hygienic, non-slip and cleaning properties.

E) Basic cleaning and stain removal

Basic cleaning means particularly intensive interim cleaning. The use of special cleaners, longer times for the agent to act upon the dirt, and increased mechanical support by brushes ensure thorough cleaning of the covering.

The following agents are suitable for removing most common stains:

Limestone deposits, urine scale, rust stains and metal abrasion residue:
Use acid cleaners, thoroughly pre-wet cement joints and completely remove the acid cleaner by rinsing with clear water or neutralising after allowing sufficient time for the cleaner to act upon the dirt.

Tar, bitumen, paint spots, expansion joint residue and media with synthetic resin additives:
Stains of this type are best removed using organic solvents such as naphtha, acetone or so-called caustic pastes.

Epoxy resins:
They can be removed with caustic pastes or special cleaning agents.

Oil, grease and wax:
Highly-alkaline cleaners are capable of loosening and removing these substances. In the case of extreme soiling, this effect can be supported by solvents. Unglazed ceramics without upgrading or impregnation may show stains caused by oil, grease or coloured liquids, which can not be completely removed again.

Rubber abrasion residue, pencil marks:
Chemical removal is not possible using cleaning agents. In this case, only mechanical removal by rubbing or brushing is effective, possibly supported by scouring powder.
 

F) Unglazed ceramic tiles

As a preventive measure, unglazed ceramic tiles without in-plant upgrading should be impregnated in cases where practical experience shows that the floor may come into contact with coloured liquids, grease or oil.

All unglazed tiles with in-plant Protecta upgrading as well as the Quantum series need not and must not be impregnated. As for glazed ceramics, the impregnation is unable to penetrate and consequently accumulates on the surface as a greasy layer.
 

G) Non-slip ceramic tiles

Our product range includes a great number of non-slip glazed and unglazed series. These products are perfectly suitable for use in commercial, industrial and public areas as well as in wet barefoot areas such as swimming pools, showers, saunas and the like. They have smooth, micro-rough or profiled surfaces, depending on the respective area of application. In the case of non-slip surfaces, mechanical cleaning by means of brushing machines with rotating soft nylon brushes or microfibre fleece as well as high-pressure or vapour pressure cleaners is most effective, whereby joints must be co-ordinated to the requisite cleaning process. Brushes or pads containing abrasives must not be used under any circumstances, as they reduce slip resistance. Cleaning agents, equipment and methods must be co-ordinated to the respective type of soiling and area of application. Cleaning agent or disinfectant residue make flooring slippy which is why they should be rinsed thoroughly. Otherwise, they can react with moisture to form a greasy layer which impairs non-slip safety. Cleaning agents forming a film also have a negative impact on non-slip safety.

Alkaline cleaning agents should be used for basic cleaning and regular maintenance cleaning. Where water is soft, only occasional acidic cleaning is necessary (weekly or monthly depending on the flow of water and water hardness). Harder water requires more frequent use of acidic cleaning agents.

A selection of suitable cleaning agents is outlined in the RK List (list of tested cleaning agents for ceramic surfaces in swimming pools) supplied by the German Society for the Pool Industry. In any case, the instructions for use and hazard warnings provided by the respective manufacturer must be observed.
 

As a general rule, the following maintenance cleaning procedure has proved its worth:

  • Dilute the cleaning agent (depending on the degree of soiling) and pour over the surface.

  • Allow to take effect for approx. 15 minutes while aiding the chemical cleaning process by mechanically brushing with nylon brushes (without abrasive grain).

  • Remove the loosened dirt using sufficient amounts of water or rinse it off.

  • Thoroughly rinse the covering.

H) Polished porcelain stoneware

We recommend impregnating the dry and clean covering after the first cleaning immediately following installation. If impregnation is carried out once, it improves the ease of care and considerably facilitates the removal of stains caused by dirt, oil and coloured liquids.

I) HT-coated ceramic floor and wall tiles

HT proves its worth in all areas where particularly easy cleaning and perfect hygiene are required. This surface coating for wall and floor tiles offers three important advantages:

  • It is extremely easy to clean.
  • It has an antibacterial effect
  • It dissolves unpleasant odours.

These effects are based on the principle of photocatalysis. The catalyst titanium dioxide, which is durably baked onto the glaze, effects a reaction between light, oxygen and air humidity. In this process, activated oxygen forms, which decomposes microorganisms such as bacteria, fungi, algae and moss.

HT-coated tile surfaces are hydrophilic, i.e. instead of being repelled, the water spreads to form a thin film, dirt is washed down by the water and can be easily removed. This unique upgrade is practically indestructible. The photocatalytic effect already activated by normal indoor lighting or natural light is permanently conserved. The same products can be used for cleaning as for comparable ceramics without HT coating - with the advantage that the concentration of the cleaning agent can be considerably reduced. In this way, HT noticeably reduces maintenance costs while simultaneously contributing to environmental protection.

All substances forming a film (so-called care or gloss-improving products) and impairing the effectiveness of HT must be avoided as they impede the incidence of light onto the tile surface. HT is re-activated as soon as light falls on the tile surface again after removing such a care agent film.

It is also very important to thoroughly remove cleaning and disinfecting agents. Otherwise, they form a greasy, sticky layer in combination with moisture, which impairs the non-slip properties and impedes the activation of HT. HT does not affect the original properties and advantages such as resistance to abrasion, non-slip safety or resistance to chemicals. That is why strongly acidic or strongly alkaline cleaning agents can also be used for an intensive cleaning without destroying the coating.

Further information on this topic is available in our HT brochure.
 

J) HT-coated facade ceramics

During installation, it is practically impossible to avoid soiling with oily, greasy substances or other dirt. To obtain a clean facade for the final inspection, cleaning must be carried out as follows:


  • Spread a weak alkaline or an alkaline cleaning agent in the specified dilution ratio on the facade ceramics using a sponge or cloth.

  • Wipe several times to ensure a sufficient soaking time and to support mechanical cleaning.

  • Wipe with clear water.

  • Any traces of metal abrasion can be removed using an acidic cleaning agent with abrasive grain. This procedure must be supported mechanically by repeated wiping.

  • Impurities such as lacquers or paints can be detached and removed using pickling pastes.

  • In the case of special impurities, we will be pleased to support you with specific recommendations, whereby it would of course be helpful if you could provide us with a brief description of the type of impurity.

Maintenance cleaning of the facade is effected by sun and rain on all surfaces directly exposed to the rain thanks to the HT coating applied in-plant. Due to the hydrophilic surface, rainwater forms a thin film which infiltrates the dirt and leads to a “self-washing“ effect. Thus, every shower cleans the facade free of charge.

Further information on this topic is available in our HT brochure.

Valid as at: 08.06.2017
 

Nach oben

ReinigungsanleitungSeite empfehlen

Reinigungsanleitung

A) Allgemeines

Marktforschungen, Untersuchungen und vor allem praktische Erfahrungen belegen, dass Keramik im Vergleich zu anderen Belagsmaterialien hervorragend abschneidet. Vor allem dauerhafte Schönheit und leichte Reinigung bei gleichzeitig hoher Funktionalität in privaten wie in öffentlichen Bereichen zählen zu den entscheidenden Kriterien.

Unsere Produkte sind qualitativ hochwertige Markenartikel. Alle glasierten und unglasierten Materialien zeichnen sich durch Oberflächen aus, die beste Voraussetzungen für problemlose Reinigung bieten.

Bitte beachten Sie bei allen Reinigungsmitteln die Gebrauchsanweisungen und Gefahrenhinweise des jeweiligen Herstellers. Für Schäden, die aus der Nichtbeachtung dieser Anweisungen und Hinweise resultieren, können wir verständlicherweise keine Haftung übernehmen.

Keinesfalls Reinigungsmittel verwenden, die Flusssäure oder deren Verbindungen (Fluoride) enthalten. Diese greifen auch bei starker Verdünnung die Keramik an.

B) Grundsätzliches

Eine Binsenweisheit, aber nach wie vor richtig: Schmutz, der nicht herein getragen wird, braucht nicht abgereinigt werden! Abstreifroste, Fußmatten, Sauberlaufzonen vor dem Eingangsbereich halten eine Menge Schmutz ab.

Bei der Reinigung gelten folgende Grundprinzipien:

  1. Auswahl des geeigneten Reinigungsmittels

  2. Dem Reinigungsmittel Zeit lassen, den Schmutz zu unterwandern und anzulösen

  3. Vorgang mechanisch unterstützen: Bürsten oder wischen in geeigneter Form; keine sog. Pads oder Bürsten mit Schleifkornzusatz verwenden!

  4. Den gelösten Schmutz gründlich aufnehmen, wegspülen oder absaugen.

 

C) Bauendreinigung oder Erstreinigung

Darunter versteht man die Bauschlussreinigung, unmittelbar nach Fertigstellung des Belages. Nachdem grober Schmutz abgekehrt worden ist, erfolgt die gründliche Reinigung unter Zugabe des geeigneten Reinigers.
Für die Entfernung von Zementschleiern, also Resten von hydraulisch abbindenden Verlege- und Verfugmaterialien, eignen sich nur saure Reinigungsmittel, so genannte Zementschleierentferner.
Saure Reiniger greifen Fugen auf Zementbasis an. Daher die Fugen durch Vornässen schützen und nach der Anwendung den Belag gründlich klar spülen, eventuell neutralisieren.
Allgemeinschmutz lässt sich am besten mit alkalischen Reinigern oder neutralen Reinigern entfernen.

D) Unterhaltsreinigung

Der „Alltagsputz“ ist problemlos und wird – je nach Schmutzanfall und Nutzung – in unterschiedlichen Abständen notwendig sein: wöchentlich, täglich, bei besonders intensiver Begehung mehrmals täglich. Allgemein reicht zur Unterhaltsreinigung Wasser mit handelsüblichen Reinigern. Pflegemittelhaltige Reiniger sind nicht notwendig und auf Dauer eventuell sogar problematisch: es können sich klebrige Fett-, Wachs- und Kunststoff-Schichten aufbauen, die die Optik, Hygiene, Trittsicherheit und Reinigung negativ beeinflussen.

E) Grundreinigung und Fleckenbeseitigung

Bei der Grundreinigung handelt es sich um eine intensive Zwischenreinigung. Durch Einsatz von Spezialreinigern, erhöhter Einwirkungszeiten, verstärkter mechanischer Unterstützung durch Bürsten wird der Belag gründlich gereinigt.

Für die Beseitigung der gängigsten Verfleckungen eignen sich folgende Mittel:

Kalkablagerungen, Urinstein, Rostflecken und Metallabrieb:
saure Reiniger, Fugen auf Zementbasis gründlich vornässen, sauren Reiniger durch klar spülen oder neutralisieren nach der Einwirkungszeit vollständig entfernen.

Teer, Bitumen, Farbkleckse, Reste von Dehnungsfugen und kunstharzvergütete Medien:
Hier eignen sich organische Lösungsmittel, wie z. B. Benzin, Aceton oder so genannte Abbeizpasten am besten.

Epoxidharze:
Mit Abbeizpasten oder speziellen Reinigungsmitteln ist eine Entfernung möglich.

Öle, Fette, Wachse:
Stark alkalische Reiniger sind in der Lage, diese Stoffe anzulösen und zu entfernen. Bei extremer Verunreinigung kann die Wirkung durch Lösungsmittel unterstützt werden. Unglasierte Keramik ohne Vergütung oder Imprägnierung kann eventuell durch Öle, Fette oder gefärbte Flüssigkeiten eine Verfleckung aufweisen, die nicht mehr vollständig zu entfernen ist.

Gummiabrieb, Bleistiftstriche:
Ein chemisches Lösen über Reinigungsmittel ist nicht möglich. Hier ist nur eine mechanische Entfernung durch Reiben oder Bürsten, eventuell unterstützt mit Scheuerpulver wirksam.

F) Unglasierte keramische Beläge

Unglasierte, nicht oberflächenvergütete Keramik sollte vorbeugend imprägniert werden, wenn vorhersehbar ist, dass gefärbte Flüssigkeiten, Fette oder Öle auf den Belag einwirken.

Alle unglasierten Beläge mit werksseitiger Protecta-Vergütung sowie Serie Quantum brauchen und dürfen nicht imprägniert werden. Ähnlich wie bei glasierter Keramik kann die Imprägnierung nicht eindringen und bleibt dann auf der Oberfläche als Schmierschicht zurück.

G) Trittsichere keramische Beläge

Unser Sortiment beinhaltet eine breite Palette trittsicherer glasierter und unglasierter Serien. Diese
Produkte sind „maßgeschneidert“ für den Einsatz in Gewerbe, Industrie, öffentlichen Bereichen odeer
nassbelasteten Barfußbereichen wie Schwimmbädern, Duschen, Saunen etc. Sie haben je nach
Anwendungsgebiet ebene, mikroraue oder profilierte Oberflächen. Trittsichere Oberflächen sind am
Effizientesten maschinell zu reinigen mit Bürstenmaschinen, Hochdruck- oder Dampfreinigern. Die Verfugung muss dabei auf die erforderliche Reinigung abgestimmt sein. Schleifmittelhaltige Bürsten oder Pads dürfen dabei keinesfalls zum Einsatz kommen, da sie die Trittsicherheit erniedrigen. Reinigungsmittel, -gerät und -methode muss dabei auf die Schmutzart und den Anwendungsbereich abgestimmt sein. Reste von Reinigungs- oder Desinfektionsmitteln machen den Bodenbelag glitschig, deshalb gründlich klar spülen. Filmbildende Reinigungsmittel beeinflussen die Trittsicherheit ebenfalls negativ.

Für die Grundreinigung und die laufende Unterhaltsreinigung sind alkalische Reinigungsmittel zu verwenden. Bei weichem Wasser ist nur gelegentlich (je nach Wasseranfall und -härte wöchentlich oder monatlich) eine saure Reinigung erforderlich. Härteres Wasser erfordert entsprechend häufiger den Einsatz von sauren Reinigungsmitteln.

Eine Auswahl an geeigneten Reinigungsmitteln kann der RK-Liste (Liste geprüfter Reinigungsmittel für keramische Beläge in Schwimmbädern) von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für das Badewesen entnommen werden.
 

H) Poliertes Feinsteinzeug

Hier empfehlen wir nach der Bauendreinigung den trockenen und sauberen Belag zu imprägnieren. Eine einmalige Durchführung verbessert die Pflegeleichtigkeit, Flecken von Schmutz, Öl und gefärbten Flüssigkeiten können dann erheblich leichter entfernt werden.

I) HT-veredelte keramische Beläge (Wand und Boden)

Überall da, wo besonders leichte Reinigung und perfekte Hygiene gefragt sind, bewährt sich HT. Die Oberflächenveredelung für Wand- und Bodenfliesen bietet drei wichtige Vorzüge:

  • Sie ist extrem reinigungsfreundlich
  • Sie wirkt antibakteriell
  • Sie baut störende Gerüche ab.

Die Effekte basieren auf dem Prinzip der Photokatalyse: Der dauerhaft in die Glasur eingebrannte Katalysator Titandioxid löst eine Reaktion zwischen Licht, Sauerstoff und Luftfeuchtigkeit aus. Dabei bildet sich aktivierter Sauerstoff, der Mikroorganismen wie Bakterien, Pilze, Algen und Moose zersetzt und deren Neubildung behindert.

HT-veredelte Fliesenoberflächen sind hydrophil. Statt abzuperlen, bildet das Wasser einen dünnen Film und unterspült Verschmutzungen, die sich dann einfach entfernen lassen. Die in dieser Form einzigartige Veredelung ist praktisch unverwüstlich. Die photokatalytische Wirkung, die schon durch normale Raumbeleuchtung oder natürliches Licht aktiviert wird, bleibt dauerhaft erhalten.

Für die Reinigung können die gleichen Mittel verwendet werden wie für vergleichbare Keramik ohne HT-Veredelung, mit dem Vorteil, dass die Konzentration des Reinigungsmittels deutlich verringert werden kann. HT senkt somit spürbar die Unterhaltskosten und schont zugleich die Umwelt.

Zu vermeiden sind alle Substanzen, die einen Film bilden (so genannte Pflege- bzw. Glanzprodukte) und die Wirksamkeit von HT beeinträchtigen, weil der Lichteinfall auf die Fliesenoberfläche dadurch behindert wird. Sobald nach der Abreinigung eines solchen Pflegemittelfilms wieder Licht auf die Fliesenoberfläche fällt, wird HT wieder aktiviert.

Die gründliche Entfernung von Reinigungs- und Desinfektionsmitteln ist ebenfalls sehr wichtig. Sie bilden sonst zusammen in Verbindung mit Feuchtigkeit eine schmierig-klebrige Schicht, die die Trittsicherheit beeinträchtigt und die Aktivierung von HT behindert. Durch HT werden die ursprünglichen Eigenschaften und Vorzüge wie Abriebfestigkeit, Trittsicherheit oder Chemikalien-beständigkeit nicht beeinflusst. Daher können zur intensiven Reinigung auch stark saure oder stark alkalische Reinigungsmittel eingesetzt werden, ohne dass die Veredelung zerstört wird.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema HT finden Sie in unserer Spezialbroschüre.

J) HT-veredelte Fassadenkeramik

Bei der Montage sind Verunreinigungen mit ölig-fettigem oder sonstigem Schmutz nahezu unvermeidlich. Um für die Endabnahme eine saubere Fassade zu erzielen, ist folgendermaßen abzureinigen:


  • Schwach alkalischen oder alkalischen Reiniger in der angegebenen Verdünnung mit einem Schwamm oder Lappen auf der Fassadenkeramik verteilen

  • Mehrmals Abwischen, um ausreichende Einwirkungszeit zu gewährleisten und die Reinigung mechanisch zu unterstützen

  • Mit klarem Wasser nachwischen

  • Eventuell aufgebrachte metallische Abriebspuren können mit einem sauren Reiniger mit Scheuerkorn abgereinigt werden. Dieser Vorgang ist durch mehrmaliges Abwischen mechanisch zu unterstützen.

  • Verunreinigungen wie Lacke oder Farben können mit Abbeizpasten angelöst und entfernt werden.

  • Bei speziellen Verunreinigungen unterstützen wir Sie gerne mit spezifischen Empfehlungen, wobei es quo natura hilfreich ist, wenn Sie die Art der Verunreinigung kurz benennen.

Die Unterhaltsreinigung der Fassade wird an allen direkt beregneten Flächen dank werkseitiger HT-Veredelung von Sonne und Regen übernommen: Aufgrund der hydrophilen Oberfläche bildet Regenwasser einen dünnen Film, der Verschmutzungen unterwandert und zu einem „self-washing“-Effekt führt. So wird jeder Schauer zu einem kostenlosen Reinigungsvorgang.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema HT finden Sie in unserer Spezialbroschüre.
 

Nach oben